Direct Access to the

Glossary: 0#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z
Companies: 0# A B C D E  F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

The European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) is an agency of the European Union (EU) with responsibility for civil aviation safety.

In the aerospace context, EASA stands for the European Union Aviation Safety Agency. EASA is an independent EU agency that is responsible for the regulation and certification of civil aviation safety in the European Union. Its main goal is to maintain and improve the high level of safety in civil aviation across the EU while supporting the growth of the EU aviation industry.

Examples of EASA's responsibilities include:

  • Aircraft certification: EASA is responsible for certifying the design and production of aircraft and aircraft components, including the approval of aircraft type designs and the certification of production organizations.

  • Airworthiness certification: EASA is responsible for the airworthiness certification of aircraft and aircraft components, including the approval of aircraft maintenance programs and the certification of maintenance organizations.

  • Pilot licensing: EASA is responsible for the standardization of pilot licensing in the EU, including the approval of training organizations and the issuance of pilot licenses.

  • Operations certification: EASA is responsible for the certification of airlines and other operators, including the approval of their operational procedures and the certification of their air traffic management systems.

  • Safety oversight: EASA is responsible for the safety oversight of EU-registered aircraft and operators, including the surveillance of their compliance with EU safety regulations and the investigation of accidents and incidents.

EASA works closely with the European Commission, the European Union Member States, and other international organizations, to develop and implement EU safety regulations and standards. It also provides technical assistance and support to the EU Member States in their safety oversight activities. EASA's work helps ensure that the EU's civil aviation industry maintains a high level of safety and remains competitive in the global market.

No comments

Do you have more interesting information, examples? Send us a new or updated description !

If you sent more than 600 words, which we can publish, we will -if you allow us - sign your article with your name!

Related Articles

Federal Aviation Agency ■■■■■■■■■■
The Federal Aviation Agency (FAA) primary mission is to ensure the safety of air travel for the flying . . . Read More
ATC ■■■■■■■
In the aerospace context, ATC stands for Air Traffic Control. It is a service provided by ground-based . . . Read More
FIR ■■■■■■
In the aerospace context, "FIR" can refer to several different things, depending on the context. Here . . . Read More
FAA ■■■■■■
In the aerospace context, FAA stands for: Federal Aviation Administration, it is a government agency . . . Read More
Airline ■■■■■■
In the aerospace context, an airline is a company that provides scheduled air transportation for passengers . . . Read More
CNIM ■■■■■■
Construction Navale et Industrielle de la Méditerranée (CNIM) is a French company that specializes . . . Read More
ESTEC ■■■■■■
ESTEC stands for the European Space Research and Technology Centre. It is an establishment of the European . . . Read More
Standard Terminal Arrival Route ■■■■■■
A Standard Terminal Arrival Route (STAR) is a published instrument flight procedure used by pilots to . . . Read More
QML ■■■■■■
QML stands for Qualified Manufacturers List. It is a list of manufacturers and suppliers that have been . . . Read More
EGNOS ■■■■■■
EGNOS stands for European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service. It is a satellite-based augmentation . . . Read More